TSGK Clan Forum Forum Index TSGK Clan Forum
Half-Life 2 : Deathmatch TSGK Clan forum.
 
 CalendarCalendar   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Biffjab
December 16 1994 (23 year old)
Plasmo_TSGK
December 12 1983 (34 year old)
 TSGK Member 
Taylor Swift
December 15 1980 (37 year old)
Calendar
Calendar Calendar
Mon 11 Dec 2017 Tue 12 Dec 2017 Wed 13 Dec 2017 Thu 14 Dec 2017 Fri 15 Dec 2017 Sat 16 Dec 2017 Sun 17 Dec 2017
 
Birthday Plasmo_TSGK  
 
 
Birthday Taylor Swift  
Birthday Biffjab  
 
The time now is Tue Dec 12, 2017 16:16
All times are UTC + 2 (DST in action)
 Forum index » TSGK General » HL2 Help
graphics
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
The Borg_TSGK
TSGK Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 2756
Location: Suffolk, England
Country:
Age: 46

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 18:26    Post subject:  graphics  

i have just changed my graphics card to a gainward 9600gt 512mb

It will play cut scenes of but freezes or goes blocky when in game

on hl2dm can run around a map for about 20 secs then game either freezes or it freezes for a few secs and then i turn into a gray man. have tried changing vid settings high or very low, same with screen size and same result

Dxdiag says no problem have 9.0c
installed and ran 3dmark05 basic version and it ran through all of the tests with fairly good fps

I feel this is a direct x problem, but this is only my guess

i reinstalled splinter cell and again it ran through the cut scene on new player but crashed before start of game play

Help help help

ideas, test anything to get this running on games
tia

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Growling_Mad_Scientist
TSGK Member


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 321
Country:
Browser:
Age: 35

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 19:16    Post subject:  

So, i remembered that you were using an onboard videocard right??

hum, did you unistall the drivers of onboard card?? have u some option in BIOS to change onboard graphics to PCI-E card, or something like that... maybe deactivating onboard video? asking this, cause i never had a board with onboard gfx, so im not sure how it might work.

If any of this is possible or you havent done it yet, give it a try.

after that, the only thing that i can think of now, is a format and a fresh windows/drivers install.... Razz

that usually fixes many problems.. lol

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Diet H2O_TSGK
TSGK Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2006
Posts: 3272
Location: Ireland (right, left, then second on the right)
Country:
Age: 46

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 22:02    Post subject:  

Growling_Mad_Scientist wrote:
So, i remembered that you were using an onboard videocard right??

hum, did you unistall the drivers of onboard card?? have u some option in BIOS to change onboard graphics to PCI-E card, or something like that... maybe deactivating onboard video? asking this, cause i never had a board with onboard gfx, so im not sure how it might work.

If any of this is possible or you havent done it yet, give it a try.

after that, the only thing that i can think of now, is a format and a fresh windows/drivers install.... Razz

that usually fixes many problems.. lol


Don't bother with a fresh windows install. Does it only happen after a while? If so, keep an eye on temperature and see if the card fails when it reaches a particular temperature. If so you may have a dodgy card.

_________________

Two parts hydrogen, one part oxygen with all the fat taken out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lawitz
TSGK Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 2337
Country:
Browser:
Age: 28

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 02:47    Post subject:  

a windows reinstall can still solve things. my pc could not launch any pc games except hl2dm, windows reinstalled and everything works again.

you could bother but in the end trying to solve such problems the real way isnīt possible or much more time consuming than a reinstall of windows. also you will have a fresh installation which will mean faster.

faults could be:
-card overheats
-card is broken
-windows is broken
-driver conflict
-not enough power from the psu
-bios conflict (turn off onboard gpu)

first check if you have a good enough psu. to check if the card is broken or overheats you could put it in a different pc if you have one available. turn of the onboard gpu in the bios if you havenīt done so yet. if it works in the other pc then uninstall the onboard driver if its there still, reinstall the nvidia driver. if it still doesnīt work, then windows reinstallation is the only thing left to do.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
StonedCabbage
TSGK Member


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 2272
Location: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Country:
Browser:
Age: 31

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 03:00    Post subject:  

Lawitz wrote:
a windows reinstall can still solve things. my pc could not launch any pc games except hl2dm, windows reinstalled and everything works again.

you could bother but in the end trying to solve such problems the real way isnīt possible or much more time consuming than a reinstall of windows. also you will have a fresh installation which will mean faster.

faults could be:
-card overheats
-card is broken
-windows is broken
-driver conflict
-not enough power from the psu
-bios conflict (turn off onboard gpu)

first check if you have a good enough psu. to check if the card is broken or overheats you could put it in a different pc if you have one available. turn of the onboard gpu in the bios if you havenīt done so yet. if it works in the other pc then uninstall the onboard driver if its there still, reinstall the nvidia driver. if it still doesnīt work, then windows reinstallation is the only thing left to do.


Dont do Fresh Reinstall, lot of hassle just for a card, determine ether it is the card or not first as Lawlitz says, buy a compeltely non Steam game to see if that cures it. I had a problem with Steam which required a complete deinstall / reinstall, but that was down to connectivity issues.

_________________

I hope that packet gets lost forever in network oblivion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Zog Ecosse


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 788
Location: Lerwick Shetland
Country:
Browser:
Age: 65

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 15:33    Post subject:  

You require a psu that can output a minimum of 400w continious.
Also you should check that the 12v supply on the gfx card can supply at least 18amps peak.
In order to do this you need a good quality 400w psu or if you want to use a cheaper on you should go for a power rating of 550w minimum, 600w to be on the safe side. It will all depend on the other components in your system.

Also, if you had an ATI card/onboard installed before, make sure you have all the associated drivers and control apps uninstalled properly by checking there are no residual files lurking. Delete manualy if you find any.
nvidia/ATI card changes can cause problems.

If you are putting out a higer fps rate than before and are using a LCD monitor, You might be exceeding the frame rate that the monitor can display. To check this, use the formuala 1000/respons time in ms.
IE a monitor with a 5ms response time is comfortable with
1000/5 =200fps. or less.
So, if you are exceeding this, use the console command : fps_max 200.
The game default rate is set at 300fps which is a legacy of the time when we mostly used crt monitors.

_________________



"You don't have to be mad to live on the planet Zog but it definitely helps"
Tharg of Zog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lawitz
TSGK Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 2337
Country:
Browser:
Age: 28

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 19:20    Post subject:  

5-ms grey to grey or color to color? the official numbers are usually grey to grey with color to color being much higher than that.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Zog Ecosse


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 788
Location: Lerwick Shetland
Country:
Browser:
Age: 65

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 01:09    Post subject:  

Grey to grey is the normal benchmark for lcd monitors because individual colour pixels have different response times.
2ms grey/grey is normally recognisd to be the response time needed for a reasonable gaming monitor.
It was not a problem with crt monitors because their response time is measured in nano seconds but omg the eye strain, size and radiation not to mention the cost for a large flat screen.

_________________



"You don't have to be mad to live on the planet Zog but it definitely helps"
Tharg of Zog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
The Borg_TSGK
TSGK Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 2756
Location: Suffolk, England
Country:
Age: 46

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 09:09    Post subject:  

Thanks all for the gr8 advice.

I decided that the card was ok because it ran the 3dmark program for 5 mins and the 3dmark demo straight after, while i had the fan control program running and it hardly went up at all.

I found my old xp disc and as thinking about reinstalling as i was sure it was a driver or directx problem, because i was having various problems before in game, which was why i thought to upgrade graphics card

Anyway i decided to go in big Shocked and splash the cash on windows 7 and as the box comes with both 32 and 64bit disc i found i was now able to go 64 bit Very Happy so now i can use a bit more of the 4 gig of memory that is installed.


One bit that i dont understand is the computer system says 4gig installed, but only 3.12 is usable, any ideas why Question

Now the only problem is the sound card, its a fortissimo7.1 but windows 7 doesn't like it or allow any drivers to install. The m/b has onboard sound so i may have to use this untill i can get some working drivers or a new card

Thanks again all


lcd monitor is a 3ms

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Zog Ecosse


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 788
Location: Lerwick Shetland
Country:
Browser:
Age: 65

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 13:01    Post subject:  

Just migrated to W7 64 bit 2 days ago myself so I am a bit of a novice.
The total ram installed comprises non-vidio and vidio ram.
The system reserves some installed non-video ram and the video ram uses memory addresses above the non video ram.
If your gfx card shares non-video ram, it will also come off the ram you
can access to run programms.
The 3.12 gb reported appears to be what you have left to run programms.

As for your sound problems -

Most mobos have on board sound so as a tempory measure, remove the sound card and go into bios and make sure your onbourd sound is enabled ( its normally in the onboard devices section of the bios).
The most common onboard sound is Realtek which W7 will detect and configure automaticaly. I would imagine it will be the same with other propriety onboard sound systems. (The onboard sound will also use a small ammount of system ram).
The onboard sound is not HIFI but it is not too bad and it will at least get you up and playing while you sort out if your card has 64 bit drivers or source one that wiil run.

_________________



"You don't have to be mad to live on the planet Zog but it definitely helps"
Tharg of Zog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fyckfaco


Joined: 05 Nov 2006
Posts: 436
Location: UK
Country:
Age: 32

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 13:48    Post subject:  

Erm, that sounds like its still using your onboard graphics dude. At least as far as the ram is concerned.
I assume you have plugged your monitor into the new gfx card right? xD
You need to go into your bios and make sure your ram isnt being used to feed the on board gfx memory.

_________________
www.killcampers.com


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
The Borg_TSGK
TSGK Member


Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 2756
Location: Suffolk, England
Country:
Age: 46

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 21:40    Post subject:  

This is taken from the Bios manual.
I have colour marked the settings i have at the moment, if you think this is wrong please tell me


Primary Graphics Adapter
This item shows the primary graphics adapter. The default value is [PCI].
Configuration options: [Onboard], [PCI] and [PCI Express].
Internal Graphics Mode Select
If you select [Auto], the onboard VGA will be automatically disabled when
you install VGA card; the onboard VGA will be enabled without the installation
of any add-on VGA card. If you select [Enabled, 8MB] or [Enabled,
1MB], the onboard VGA will be enabled.
DVMT Mode Select
Use this option to adjust DVMT mode. Configuration options: [Fixed Mode],
[DVMT Mode] and [Fixed+DVMT Mode]. The default value is [DVMT Mode].
DVMT (Dynamic Video Memory Technology) is an architecture that offers
breakthrough performance for the motherboard through efficient memory
utilization. In Fixed mode, a fixed-size fragment of the system memory is
allocated to the graphics core. In DVMT mode, the graphics driver allocates
memory as needed for running graphics applications and is cooperatively
using this memory with other system components. In Fixed+DVMT mode,
the graphics processor gets a fixed-size chunk of 64MB of memory and up
to 64MB of dynamically-allotted memory. This mode guarantees that at least
64MB of memory is available to the graphics core, with a possibility to
increase this amount to 128MB, if necessary. This item will not be used
under WindowsŪ VistaTM OS because the driver will intelligently detect
physical memory available and allocate necessary video memory.
DVMT/FIXED Memory
You are allowed to adjust the shared memory size in this item if you set
DVMT Mode Select as [DVMT Mode]. Configuration options: [64MB], [128MB]
and [Maximum DVMT].

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » TSGK General » HL2 Help
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
You cannot post calendar events in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2671s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0094s) ][ Debug on ]